Up-cycling: Wall Art Edition

Standard

3164059182_82c1286782

Ok guys, I’m going to start off by apologizing, as it has been awhile since my last post. I have had such a crazy week, you wouldn’t believe it. Normally I don’t have too much going on, but of course everything piled up at the exact same time…welcome to my world.

I tried very hard to stay on top of things with different organizational strategies, which is just a fancy name I give my obsessive list making. I have many different lists constantly going, such as my “Please try to get this done” list, my “You actually HAVE to do this stuff” list, “Do this ASAP!” list, and of course, my “HOLY $*@! GET THIS DONE!!!” list. Unfortunately, I normally just look at my lists, get stressed out, and then do something else to calm me down. NOTE: this is NOT a recommended strategy for overcoming a heavy workload.

Anyway, the point of me telling you all of this is because my organization, or lack there of, is what inspired this post. I believe that in order to be productive you need a clean workspace, or at least this is what I tell myself to give me something to do besides the work I actually need to be doing. While I was cleaning, I found my stash of empty toilet paper rolls. Yes, I said toilet paper rolls. I never like to throw them away because I am convinced that I will do something awesome with them one day. Guess what….THAT DAY IS HERE!!

I have played around with different things to do with these rolls, and have come up with some good projects. I’ll show you how to make the base, and then give you some cool ideas that I’ve seen. Let’s get started!

 

Supplies:

Toilet paper rolls

Scissors

Paint (optional)

Glue (hot glue of tacky glue works best)

 

They all start with the same basic steps:

1. Get rid of all the bits of toilet paper left on the roll

2. Flatten the roll

IMG_3933.JPG  IMG_3934.JPG

3. Cut the roll (short ways) into strips, about 5 times

IMG_3936.JPG  IMG_3937.JPG

4. If you want to, paint the strips inside and out, although I think just the brown can still look good.                                    **You can do this before you cut, although afterwards its easier to get the inside.                                                                     **You can also paint after the project is assembled, however if you do this, I would recommend spray paint.

5. Add a small drop of glue to one end of the strip, then clip it to another strip while it dries

IMG_3939.JPG  IMG_3940.JPG

6. Continue this until you have made a complete flower (5-6 strips)

IMG_3943.JPG  IMG_3944.JPG

 

Now it is up to you! I personally like just having the flowers up on the wall like so…

OfDHFP30sAXM-XTX7Coy9E8abAM6gcXts6GUz5x70g4

However I have also included a few other ideas. They basically all start with the flower, and expand from there.

Thrills Thrifty Finds

IMGP0949

Happiness is Homemade 

eb4feea8069bfec4c2f3506ccfd98728

 

Compartment Life

pinterest-1  finished

Christmas Spirit:

18946e6c9a334459f2867cd91d12e692

eab11fc52d7a999e011dccc5ebd57976

 

Good Luck and let me know how it goes!

 

3 responses »

  1. I actually made this with my sisters and their friends! It looks so pretty once the paint is set! I am collecting more paper rolls to make a very elaborate design! I like your examples, I might try these first!

Leave a Reply

